DIY Coffee Scrub

DIY Coffee Scrub

In a recent issue of Womans World, I came across this wonderful DIY Java Scrub recipe that I thought would be great to share with you dear reader.  It was listed under ‘Cures for Tiredness’ and hey, I’m an 8-to-5er who is constantly busy- whether I’m working out, pursuing creative endeavors or just out and about, so I definitely get tired from time to time.  The article claims that a coffee scrub will clear away dull skin and leave you with a brighter complexion, that the caffeine helps reduce swelling and the massaging action of applying the scrub flushes out excess fluid that make your hands, legs and feed look puffy.  Whether the scrub does all of these things, I have no idea. What I can tell you is that it smells wonderful, gives you that wonderful spa scrub feeling without spending a fortune (and who doesn’t like to save a little money??), and it leaves your skin soft.  I especially love a good scrub by the kitchen sink because I like to paint.  This is an easy, sweet-smelling way to get all of that stuck-on creativity off and down the drain.

Recipe (altered a little bit by me):

Coffee Scrub

  • 1 cup ground coffee (any that you like, I used regular coffee, no special flavoring)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp fresh ground cinnamon (this is what really topped it all off for me, I used a coffee grinder to pulverize 2 cinnamon sticks…but you could just use ground cinnamon from a jar too)

Blend all of these ingredients together in an airtight container, (I used a mason jar w/ a screw top lid -it is pretty and will look nice sitting in my bathroom or by the kitchen sink)

Use: Massage scrub over clean, damp skin; rinse and pat dry (you might want to use a little soap when rinsing if you don’t want too much oil left behind on your skin).

The scrub will keep for 2 months if kept in a cool, dry place.

DIY Coffee Scrub

DIY Coffee Scrub

Inspired by how easy this was, I have all of the ingredients in my pantry, woo hoo…I went Google-ing for more salt and sugar scrubs. Simply search for: ‘DIY Sugar Scrub’ or ‘DIY Salt Scrub’ and you’ll be amazed at all of the fun recipes you’ll find.  I developed my own concoction, recipe following…

Cinnamon-Almond Sugar Scrub

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp cinnamon extract
  • 1.5  tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp fresh ground cinnamon (or from a jar, whatever is easiest for you)

Mix together in an airtight container and scrub on all over your body whenever you want that ‘spa-at-home’ pampering treatment. :)

DIY Sugar Scrub

DIY Sugar Scrub

Enjoy!

Comments
28 Responses to “DIY Coffee Scrub”
  1. Jenn says:

    So making this for teacher’s Christmas gifts!

  2. Miss A says:

    Would used grounds from making coffee work for this recipe as well?

    • mmarnall says:

      I haven’t tried it but I don’t think used grounds would work as well. They have been heated and saturated with water, so they are now much softer. The idea of the scrub is to exfoliate with the granular texture of the coffee and sugar.

    • SheChef says:

      I have used the coffee grounds from my K-cups after I’ve made the coffee and it works fine. If you want a little extra exfoliant power, try using turbinado sugar instead of regular sugar.

  3. Lauren says:

    Is it ok to use…used coffee grounds?? I live on a fixed income and don’t want to waste my precious coffee grounds until they’re brewed!!

    • Lauren says:

      OH, thank you. I can see your point. I’m trying so hard to be frugal! I love my coffee and don’t want to waste any…that’s why I asked this.

      • mmarnall says:

        I completely understand being on a budget! When I made this scrub, I went to the supermarket and just found the cheapest bag of coffee I could get. You could always just cut the recipe and use half of a bag of coffee, to test it out.

      • Lauren says:

        Now that’s a good idea….or any coffee that you don’t like….you don’t have to pass on…just use it for a scrub!
        Thanks for the idea!!

    • paula says:

      I’ve used my old coffee grounds, they work perfectly fine

  4. Roni Dorris says:

    It’s usually just the high prices that discourage us from enjoying the benefits of exfoliating body scrubs. Since most of us have a canister of coffee grounds in the kitchen, making this scrub will be easy, advantageous, and most of all, economical! Not to mention that the espresso itself has added advantages for the skin and body that many body scrubs do not supply.

  5. I could not resist commenting. Well written!

  6. I read this post fully about the difference of latest and earlier technologies,
    it’s amazing article.

  7. Shay says:

    Hey, for those of you wondering if used coffee grounds will work, they will. I saved a few batches from my coffee pot and let them dry out completely on paper towel on the counter, and then just followed the instructions for the scrub. I haven’t tried it using coffee grounds that haven’t been used, so I can’t compare if the scent or scrubbing abilities are any different, but I think the scrub I made works just fine! I could imagine that it might not have as strong of a coffee scent as using fresh grounds might, but I’d much rather use used grounds than wasting fresh ones on a scrub, so I can live with the possibly milder scent! :)

  8. Kellesha says:

    Would any kind of oil work?

  9. I’m extremely pleased to find this website. I want to to thank you for ones time for this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every little bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff on your web site.

  10. Tina says:

    I will say be careful if you use used coffee grounds – I have a box I keep my espresso grounds in, and if I don’t dump them after a week or two, they start to mold. I’d worry that the coffee grounds in the scrub would do the same!

  11. nyreemuse says:

    i have used a variation of this recipe for years and my skin feels wonderful and glows afterward!
    olive oil works best as the vegetable oil tends to be a little too heavy for this. i use brown sugar instead of white and have substituted kosher salt for the sugar as well. used coffee grounds work just fine but whatever you use, your tub or shower stall will look positively horrendous after! (no one ever mentions that part!) but the results are worth it! any spice will do as long as you don’t mind the scent.

  12. Awesome things here. I’m very glad to peer your post. Thanks
    a lot and I am looking ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  13. It occurs in all ethnicities, but is most commonly seen in fair-skinned individuals (with the
    classic individual being a Caucasian of northern European stock).
    Robert Morris is up by 4 with 11 minutes remaining in the 2nd half.
    This ending also conflicts with Collins’ views on staying realistic about your position.

  14. Johng40 says:

    Wonderful work! This is the kind of info that are meant to be shared across the internet. Disgrace on the search engines for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and consult with my website . Thank you ceakgfdkaedk

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] Rosemary Mint Scrub, Soothing Lavender Scrub, Brown Sugar Oatmeal Scrub, Honey and Oil Scrub, and Coffee Scrub. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  2. [...] 5. Coffee lovers rejoice! Now, not only can you drink your coffee, you can wear it, too. Coffee grounds have wonderful exfoliating properties, and the caffeine is known for its ability to reduce the appearance of cellulite. Finding Coffee serves up this fabulous coffee scrub recipe. [...]

  3. […] Coffee Scrub That Energizes Your Mind and Body […]

  4. […] diy coffee scrub (via findingcoffee) […]

  5. […] I had purchased this small cup of ground instant coffee death a while back after first seeing the pin for this scrub experiment. I used only what I had at home, so some adjustments were made to the […]



Leave a Reply

  • Mo Wants You!

    Have you found an interesting/quirky/fun/tasty coffee shop in your travels? Let Mo know! Send an email with your find to molovescoffee@gmail.com and I'll work it into a post. Thanks fellow coffee addicts!
  • Blog Design

    Design elements custom crafted by M.A.Designs.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 215 other followers

