Have Your Cake and Coffee Too

Well, cupcakes that is. I know, I know…this is a coffee blog you say…well, you are right, but just hold your horses partner, I’ll get to that part.

After being snow-locked for a week, this weekend I grabbed my boy friend, a coat and set out to explore the Virginia Highland neighborhood of Atlanta, Georgia.  I found many interesting things on this foreign side of Atlanta.  Neat pubs, trendy eateries, a legendary hamburger joint, many new coffee houses to explore, beautiful parks to roam through and a little hole in the wall called the Atlanta Cupcake Factory.

What a find this was, a little bakery that makes fresh cupcakes in a variety of mouth-watering flavors each day and closes when they are sold out.  I picked up a box (pictured below) containing chocolate cake w/ salted caramel and chocolate frosting, lemon w/ lemon frosting, sweet potato and bourbon, and chocolate cake w/ peanut butter frosting.  I’m pretty sure you can’t go wrong with anything you choose here; I know I’ll be back to explore this neighborhood (and this shop) many more times.  The biggest surprise of this trip was what I found on the counter next to the cupcake case.  Once I had chosen my cakes and I was able to look away from the case of tempting treats, I spied a carafe of cinnamon coffee. Who can deny such an irresistible sounding cup of joe (that only cost $1.50)… not me, that’s for darn sure 🙂  I don’t know what coffee they were brewing, I’ll have to call and ask, but it was perfect. I definitely recommend that if you are in the area, stop by for the cupcakes, sure…but get a cup of coffee too, you’ll be happy you did!

image

Leave a Reply

  • Mo Wants You!

    Have you found an interesting/quirky/fun/tasty coffee shop in your travels? Let Mo know! Send an email with your find to molovescoffee@gmail.com and I'll work it into a post. Thanks fellow coffee addicts!
  • Blog Design

    Design elements custom crafted by M.A.Designs.
