SRCH with Starbucks & Lady Gaga

Frappuccino.com Starbucks

Okay so I never thought I’d be writing a post about Lady Gaga on my coffee blog…but I guess anything is possible right? I was web surfing, checking my twitter feed, mail, etc…and I came across this odd tweet by Starbucks.

@SRCH game tweet Starbucks and Lady Gaga

@SRCH game tweet

SRCH? What is SRCH? I thought that I was pretty hip to all of the coffee goings-on with twitter and other social media sites…well apparently not.  The twitter account @SRCH has an address that takes you to http://Frappuccino.com/SRCH…more intrigue.  The site is just a Polaroid of a woman’s eye that has “What will you find?” and today’s date scribbled on the bottom.  Then three is an input field asking for your email address so that they can notify you when the game begins…very strange internety things are going on here…

Frappuccino.com Starbucks

Frappuccino.com

Well of course I entered my email…pshhhh, did you really think this situation would have any other outcome? Okay so all of this is quite mysterious- an internet campaign involving email registration, a mysterious twitter account and QR codes.  I went to the source who is best at uncovering the details behind social media events to find out what was really happening here.  Mashable (full article here), of course, did not disappoint.

.

The scoop:

“SRCH by Starbucks featuring Lady Gaga” is a scavenger hunt game that is a PR event leading up to the release of her new album ‘Born This Way’ (being released May 23rd).  The game goes from today (May 19th) through June 7th and there is no purchase necessary to play.  Just stop in a Starbucks store or go to their website and scan the special QR code to begin playing.  If you don’t know how this process works, you can download the Starbucks App for your iPhone and scan the code using your smart phone.  If you are like me and have a Droid, I  like Barcode Scanner… or you can just search the Android Market for one that you like.  Once you have the app- start it up and hold your phone up to it like you are taking a picture… and the game will start from there!

SRCH QR Code Starbucks Featuring Lady Gaga

SRCH QR Code...Scan it now!

I have to admit, I’m not a huge Lady Gaga fan, but I do realize the impact that she has on our culture and the music industry today.  However, I am a huge fan of social media and I think this campaign will be a fun way for people to engage with the Starbucks brand. This mysterious and fun game will drive people to their stores and have people constantly checking their website for information- creating major buzz about Starbucks.  Good job Sbux!

.

Enjoy the game and let me know what you think of it if you decide to play! I’ll be tweeting updates as I get them during the game, so if you are interested in solving this mystery you can follow me at @MoLovesCoffee.

-Mo

.

.

.

.

Can’t get enough of A Cup of Mo? | Follow Mo on Twitter: @MoLovesCoffee | Mo on Facebook: LIKE Mo!

Leave a Reply

  • Mo Wants You!

    Have you found an interesting/quirky/fun/tasty coffee shop in your travels? Let Mo know! Send an email with your find to molovescoffee@gmail.com and I'll work it into a post. Thanks fellow coffee addicts!
  • Blog Design

    Design elements custom crafted by M.A.Designs.
