Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones

I love the holidays. I also love holiday ingredients, flavors and foods.  Sooooooo, when I saw these bags of fresh cranberries on sale (Buy One, Get One) at the supermarket I was really excited. They are so pretty and festive…plus I love the flavor of cranberry.

I got them home, stuck them in the freezer aaaaaaaaand that was a couple of weeks ago. Whoops.   Ever since then I have been looking for a nice recipe to incorporate my tangy, festive little fruits. No luck. 😦   Until I picked up a book that my mom gave me a couple of months ago…you know, the Christmas recipe magazines that they sell in, oh SEPTEMBER. Weird right?

Well I was looking for a dessert to make on Christmas and WHAM, I came across these scones. They were perfect. They are whole wheat, contain yogurt and feature cranberries. Problem. Solved.   Well kind of, it called for dried cranberries but eh, who cares. I substituted them anyways. I tossed them in a teaspoon of cornstarch and added them to the mix. They turned out so delicious and holiday-y and they even have a little less guilt with the whole wheat flour and yogurt in there…kind of.

Enjoy!

Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones- Recipe

Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones- raw

Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones- spatula

Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones- finished

Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones (adapted from Taste of Home Magazine)

  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I use sea salt)
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup cold butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt (I used honey vanilla greek yogurt)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup frozen cranberries
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • 2 tsp cinnamon sugar
In a large bowl, combine the flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nutmeg; cut in butter until crumbly.  In a small bowl or large measuring cup, combine the egg, yogurt and vanilla; stir into dry ingredients until just moistened.  In another small bowl toss cranberries with cornstarch, no need to thaw out cranberries.  Stir cranberries into dough.  turn onto a floured surface, knead 6-8 times.*
Divide dough in half. Transfer each portion onto a greased baking sheet.  Pat into an 8-in circle. Cute each circle into 8 wedges, but do not separate.  Brush with milk; sprinkle with cinnamon sugar (liberally trust me). Bake at 400 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown.  Serve warm with coffee or hot chocolate. These are also great with berry jam or butter.
*NOTE: You could be lazy like me and just divide the dough into 16 little flattened balls and bake them like that too.
whole wheat cranberry scones- jam
-Mo

 

Can’t get enough of A Cup of Mo? | Mo on Facebook: LIKE Mo!  |  

Comments
2 Responses to “Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones”
  1. I have the cranberries and just found out I’m not making Christmas dinner this year. Yay! I have a recipe for my cranberries now! These baked up so pretty!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Whole Wheat Cranberry Scones (findingcoffee.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

  • Mo Wants You!

    Have you found an interesting/quirky/fun/tasty coffee shop in your travels? Let Mo know! Send an email with your find to molovescoffee@gmail.com and I'll work it into a post. Thanks fellow coffee addicts!
  • Blog Design

    Design elements custom crafted by M.A.Designs.
