Starbucks Blonde Roast- Veranda Blend

As promised, I went out and tried the new Blonde Roasts for you. If you missed it, Mark reviewed the Willow Blend for you and now I am here to deliver the Veranda Blend.

For those who read far too much in to product launches and industry trend reports online, they probably saw this coming from a mile away. About a year ago, Seattle’s Best Coffee restructured their coffees in to a numbered ‘level’ system to help customers choose their daily caffeinated beverage.  Seattle’s Best is owned by Starbucks and this was probably a testing ground to see how this system would be received by consumers. Clearly it went pretty well because over the past few months, Starbucks has taken basically the same actions.  Except they made it sound fancier, in true Starbucks form.  We now have ‘Roast Profiles’ with coffees falling into Light (Blonde), Medium or Dark (Bold) categories.  As a type-A organizer myself, I think that this structure is logical, helps the customer make an informed decision and helps Starbucks to direct their marketing for each group in the most effective manner. Kudos to you Starbucks Corporation.

The cute new packaging doesn’t hurt either.

So how does it taste? 

The Veranda Blend promises a mellow brew with hints of cocoa and toasted nuts.  I’d say that they have a delivered a very drinkable coffee. I usually buy darker roasts (and love them) but it takes me a while do get through a 20 oz mug.  The Veranda Blend is light and pleasant, I could easily drink 3 cups of this while sitting at my desk doing work or while running errands.  I appreciate the light roast for other reasons too.  With darker roasts, I have to be careful to not drink it on an empty stomach because the acidity is much more noticeable.  I don’t know about you but I’m not a fan of feeling like there is acid in my stomach for hours after enjoying a tasty coffee. Low to medium acidity = eating a lighter breakfast/or snack = a happy Mo.

Check out the Starbucks Blonde Roasts and let me know what you think!

-Mo

Can’t get enough of A Cup of Mo? | Mo on Facebook: LIKE Mo!  |  

Leave a Reply

  • Mo Wants You!

    Have you found an interesting/quirky/fun/tasty coffee shop in your travels? Let Mo know! Send an email with your find to molovescoffee@gmail.com and I'll work it into a post. Thanks fellow coffee addicts!
  • Blog Design

    Design elements custom crafted by M.A.Designs.
